Uncategorized: Boston Marathon Bombings

I’m not sure how to process what has happened.
I would never have thought that I would feel this affected.

I went to Wellesley College, outside of Boston.
So I lived in that area for 3 years.
I also travel there fairly often to see my college friends who stayed in the area.

There is a special place in my heart for Boston.
To me, it is the great American city.

This whole thing is just so sad.
All my friends are safe.
It’s just really frightening.

Patton Oswalt said it best in his fb status update:

But the vast majority stands against that darkness and, like white blood cells attacking a virus, they dilute and weaken and eventually wash away the evil doers and, more importantly, the damage they wreak. This is beyond religion or creed or nation. We would not be here if humanity were inherently evil. We’d have eaten ourselves alive long ago.

So when you spot violence, or bigotry, or intolerance or fear or just garden-variety misogyny, hatred or ignorance, just look it in the eye and think, “The good outnumber you, and we always will.”

Going to college outside of Boston this article also resonated with me:
You May Leave Boston, but Boston Never Leaves You

“This means that there are millions of men and women wandering around America today who spent some of the best years of their lives in and around Boston, walking some of the very streets splattered with blood yesterday in the wake of the Marathon bombings. Boston is where those students like me came of age.”

Weirdly comforting:
29 Reasons to Love Boston

And some appropriate humor via Colbert.

Leave a comment

Filed under Culture, Misc., Uncategorized

Thoughts?

