Food: Rhubarb

Rhubarb

So my older sister has started growing rhubarb in her garden, and she was telling me, over lunch on mother’s day weekend, that she has a whole bunch ready to be cooked! So this got me thinking, what can we make with all this? And then it all came together:

One of my vegan college friends had posted this recipe for Rhubarb Salsa.

I stumbled onto a recipe for Rhubarb Pie (no strawberries) on my favorite food site, Food52.

I just discovered Smitten Kitchen (which looked like Smitten Kitten on first glance), I know, such a late discovery, but better late than never! And she has a recipe for Rhubarb Streusel Muffins. Which seem to be a coffee cake inspired muffin, yum!

I have never cooked rhubarb before, and have only eaten it a handful of times, but I love strawberry and rhubarb crumble. I can’t wait to try this new ingredient! Plus all these recipes look really delicious!

Edit:
Food52 Rhubarb Cooking Advice
Smitten Kitchen Strawberry-Rhubarb Crumble
Roasted Rhubarb and Strawberries (to put on everything!)

2 Comments

Filed under Food

2 responses to “Food: Rhubarb

  1. Strawberry-rhubarb cobbler has always been a nostalgic food. My grandmother used to make it from scratch every summer. Thanks for triggering the greatr memories!

    • Hey J. Same here! Even thought I haven’t eaten it that much, my mom always talks about it. My mother’s grandmother was a really great baker and one of her specialties was strawberry rhubarb pie. My mom always speaks of it fondly, and so the mere mention of strawberry rhubarb is steeped in nostalgia for me as well. My mother’s grandmother was the woman who taught my mom how to bake as well as she does, so there’s family heritage in there too. So lovely! You should make some! Delicious!

Thoughts?

